Sam Kerr named Football Writers’ Association Women’s Footballer of the Year

Sam Kerr has been awarded the Football Writers’ Association Women’s Footballer of the Year award, rewarded for her standout season at Chelsea.

The Australian was honoured alongside Liverpool's Mohamed Salah, who was named the men's Footballer of the Year.

Journey to 2023 - Thin Banner

Kerr's award comes off the back of a remarkable week for the Blues, scoring in both of Chelsea's wins over Spurs and notching her 40th goal in the WSL. 

The news of the award comes off the back of a history breaking week for the striker, breaking a Chelsea club record by scoring in seven consecutive matches. Kerr leads the WSL Golden Boot race with 18 goals to her name, as she hunts for back-to-back honours in the race.

Chelsea's striker received 40% of the vote, with Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema in second place and Lauren Hemp of Manchester City in third. 

“Both Mo and Sam have been outstanding this season, breaking records for both club and country. As well as their performances on the pitch, they are leaders and standard-bearers of excellence at their clubs and respective leagues." Football Writers’ Association chair, Carrie Brow told

This year marks the first time the Women’s Footballer of the Year has been open to the full Football Writers’ Association membership for voting, having previously been decided by an expert panel.

Previous winners of the award include Kerr's Chelsea teammate Fran Kirby, Nikita Parris and Vivianne Miedema. 

The presentation dinner for the annual Football Writers’ Association awards will take place on Thursday 5 May in London.

Visit page
This article was originally published on the CommBank Matildas website.