Round of 32: Who are the runners and riders?

The race for the final spots in the FFA Cup Round of 32 is heating up, with a flurry of matches over the coming weeks to decide the final spots as the nation's biggest clubs prepare to enter the fray.

South Hobart's 2-0 victory over Devonport in Tasmania's Lakoseljac Cup Final on Monday evening means that 11 clubs have now qualified to take their place alongside the 10 Hyundai A-League sides, with new boys Western United not competing in this season's competition.

Let’s take a look at where each state stands as the battle heats up for the chance to take on the best Australia has to offer.

WATCH: Incredible scorpion kick keeps Bulleen alive
WATCH: The FFA Cup's best goals in May

New South Wales

The five slots allocated to NSW are already confirmed, with Sydney United 58, Manly United, St George FC, Marconi Stallions and Mt Druitt Rangers all booked in for the Round of 32.

After knocking out Sydney Olympic in the last round, Marconi Stallions have become the focus of's Road to the FFA Cup Final 2019 feature, and we will follow their progress as they take their next step in the competition.  


There are four openings available to teams from Victoria, with the qualifying games to be played over the next eight days.

First up it’s Hume City v Oakleigh Cannons on Tuesday night, before Melbourne Knights play host to South Melbourne in a huge grudge match the following day.

Attention then turns to Bulleen Lions, who host St Albans Saints, with Altona Magic and Moreland Zebras rounding out the fixtures. Both of those matches will take place on on Wednesday, 19 June. 


The Sunshine State’s four representatives have already been decided. Coomera Colts, Brisbane Strikers, Olympic FC and the magnificently named Mackay and Whitsundays Magpies Crusaders United will take their place in the next round.

QLD: Four teams seal Round of 32 berth

Northern New South Wales

Tuesday and Wednesday will see Maitland v Hamilton Olympic and Valentine v Edgeworth Eagles do battle for the right to be one of the two representatives from Northern NSW.

Western Australia

Next weekend will decide the west’s two FFA Cup sides. Floreat Athena and Sorrento will face off on Saturday (15 June), before Bayswater City and Rockingham City do battle 24 hours later.

South Australia

As reigning NPL champions, Campbelltown City are locked in for the Round of 32, while South Australia’s state representative in the draw will be decided when Adelaide Olympic host Adelaide City at Coopers Stadium on Saturday week (22 June). 


Tigers FC and Canberra FC will lock horns in the Federation Cup Final next Saturday (15 June), with the winner also gaining the right to represent Capital Football in the Round of 32.

Canberra FC will be hoping to see off Cooma Tigers in the fight to represent the nation's capital


The Lakoseljac Cup in Tasmania reached its climax on Monday night, with South Hobart clinching a 2-0 win over Devonport Strikers to earn their place in the draw as the Apple Isle's sole representative. 

Tobias Herweynen and Isky Van Doorne scored late, late goals to break Devonport's hearts and set-up a third appearance in the Round of 32 for Souths. 

TAS: South Hobart clinch dramatic Lakoseljac Cup triumph

South Hobart FC
South Hobart celebrate winning the 2019 Lakoseljac Cup in Tasmania

Northern Territory

The final team to take its place in the Round of 32 will be decided in the Top End. 

Verdi FC and Darwin Olympic go head-to-head on Saturday (15 June) for the right to take on University Azzuri in a winner-takes-all battle at Darwin Football Stadium 1 on Tuesday, 25 June. 

Click below to #GetOnside for the FIFA Women's World Cup 2023™ in Australia


Visit site
This article was originally published on the FFA Cup website.