Germany squad named for FIFA Confederations Cup

Australia’s FIFA Confederations Cup opponents Germany have announced their squad for next month’s tournament in Russia.

Arsenal's Shkodran Mustafi, Liverpool's Emre Can, Manchester City's Leroy Sane and Barcelona’s Marc-Andre Ter Stegen have all been named in the squad. 

There are seven uncapped players in the squad for the 2014 World Cup winners, with the likes of Mesut Ozil, Toni Kroos and Thomas Muller left out.

Caltex Socceroos' Hyundai A-League XI

The World Champions' coach, Joachim Low, has opted to rest some his stars as he bids to keep the squad fresh for next season, which will culminate with the World Cup.

“The aim is to bring a few players up to world-class level, so that they can help us in crucial games. Then I’d be happy,” Low said.

“I see the strain on players like Mesut Ozil, Toni Kroos and Mats Hummels, they play almost every three days in crucial weeks. That is emotionally extremely exhausting, not just physically.”

Defenders Jerome Boateng and Mats Hummels, midfielder Sami Khedira and striker Mario Gomez are other big names to be left out, while keeper Manuel Neuer and attacker Mario Gotze are injured.

The Confederations Cup gets underway on June 17, with Australia to take on Germany three days later.

South American giants Chile and African champions Cameroon are the other nations in Group B.

Host nation Russia, European champions Portugal, Mexico and New Zealand are the countries in Group A.

Germany squad:

Goalkeepers: Bern Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (Barcelona), Kevin Trapp (Paris St-Germain/FRA)

Defenders: Matthias Ginter (Borussia Dortmund), Jonas Hector (Cologne), Benjamin Henrichs (Bayer Leverkusen), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Shkodran Mustafi (Arsenal/ENG), Marvin Plattenhardt (Hertha Berlin), Antonio Ruediger (AS Roma/ITA) Niklas Suele (Hoffenheim)

Midfielders: Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Emre Can (Liverpool/ENG), Kerem Demirbay (Hoffenheim), Diego Demme (RB Leipzig), Julian Draxler (Paris St-Germain/FRA), Leon Goretzka (Schalke), Sebastian Rudy (Hoffenheim), Leroy Sane (Manchester City/ENG), Lars Stindl (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Amin Younes (Ajax/NED)

Strikers: Sandro Wagner (Hoffenheim), Timo Werner (RB Leipzig)

The Caltex Socceroos tackle Saudi Arabia in a crucial World Cup Qualifer in Adelaide on June 8. Click Here for Tickets