Arnold, Foord, Fowler, Gustavsson & Kerr nominated for The Best FIFA Football Awards™

FIFA has revealed their nominees for The Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2023, with nominations for the CommBank Matildas across all three award categories.

Performances at the record-breaking FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ are reflected in The Best FIFA Women’s Player nominees, with a trio of Australians part of the 16-player shortlist.

Caitlin Foord, Mary Fowler and Sam Kerr are all vying for the Best FIFA Women’s Player award. This is Kerr's seventh nomination for the award, making the top three for the first time when she was voted second in the 2021 season.

This is the first time Foord and Fowler have received nominations for the award, with standout performances at the FIFA Women's World Cup rewarded. 

Another standout performance at the tournament has seen Mackenzie Arnold receive her first-ever nomination for The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper award, part of the 7-player shortlist.

Arnold recorded four clean sheets and made three penalty saves in the penalty-shoot-out victory against France to help Australia to the semi-finals for the first time in the tournament. 

Tony Gustavsson also received a nomination for The Best FIFA Women’s Coach, part of a 5-coach shortlist. This is Gustavsson's first nomination for the award that is currently held by England's head coach Sarina Wiegman.

The Best FIFA Women’s Player Nominees

Aitana Bonmatí (Spain); Linda Caicedo (Colombia); Rachel Daly (England); Kadidiatou Diani(France); Caitlin Foord (Australia); Mary Fowler (Australia); Alex Greenwood (England); Jennifer Hermoso (Spain); Lindsey Horan (USA); Amanda Ilestedt (Sweden); Lauren James (England); Sam Kerr (Australia); Mapi León (Spain); Hinata Miyazawa (Japan); Salma Paralluelo (Spain); Keira Walsh (England).

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper Nominees

Mackenzie Arnold (Australia); Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany); Catalina Coll (Spain); Mary Earps (England); Christiane Endler (Chile); Zećira Mušović (Sweden); Sandra Paños García-Villamil (Spain).

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach Nominees

Peter Gerhardsson (Sweden): Jonatan Giráldez (Spain); Tony Gustavsson (Sweden); Emma Hayes (England); Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands).

Visit page
This article was originally published on the CommBank Matildas website.