When does the Westfield W-League start?

The Westfield W-League 2018/19 season is drawing closer and it's set to deliver entertainment like never before.

With exciting new broadcast arrangements in place and the FIFA Women's World Cup™ looming large, football fans are in for a treat.

Make sure you're ready to go with this quick refresher on when the action gets underway!

SEASON DRAW: Everything you need about what's new, key fixtures and how to watch

When is the first match of the season?

Round 1 begins when Western Sydney Wanderers meet Sydney FC in a blockbuster derby at Marconi Stadium on Thursday, October 25.

That match will be broadcast live on Fox Sports, as will Brisbane Roar's hosting of Perth Glory three days later, with the other four clubs to also commence their campaign on Sunday, October 28.

You can keep track of all the upcoming matches on the Fixtures & Results page on w-league.com.au.

Keisuke Honda

Which are the must-see matches and when are they?

The 11th instalment of the Westfield W-League is set to bring with it numerous fascinating storylines.

The Sydney derby has a new edge with former Sky Blues coach Dan Barrett now at the helm at Western Sydney Wanderers, ensuring the season opener is sure to be a cracker.

Sydney FC follow that with a Grand Final rematch against Melbourne City on November 2 while all eyes will be on new Adelaide United striker Michelle Heyman when she meets former club Canberra United for the first time on November 22.

Get across the most anticipated matches with our rundown of what not to miss.

Michelle Heyman
Josh Risdon and Josh Brillante

When does the Finals Series begin?

The top four clubs on the ladder all qualify for the post-season Finals Series.

The do-or-die drama typically begins a week after Round 14, which is due to conclude with Newcastle Jets' hosting of Western Sydney on February 2.

Watch on from the season's opening night in October as the race for the top four unfolds!

Melbourne City celebrate
Melbourne Victory
Visit site
This article was originally published on the Westfield W-League website.