Westfield W-League draw: blockbuster fixtures

An opening weekend repeat of last year's Grand Final headlines the Westfield W-League 2017/18 draw released on Monday.

Defending champions Melbourne City will play Perth Glory at nib Stadium on Friday October 27 in a rematch of the 2016/17 decider, won 2-0 by City.

The following weekend, City return home to face cross-town rivals Victory in the season's first Melbourne derby.

That game is at AAMI Park on Friday November 3.

The first Sydney derby is on Saturday December 9 when the Sky Blues and Western Sydney Wanderers clash at ANZ Stadium, with the game part of a blockbuster double-header featuring their male counterparts.

In all, there are two-dozen double-headers with a Westfield W-League match preceding a Hyundai A-League clash, including two on the Westfield W-League's opening weekend.

Sydney FC and Brisbane Roar will meet on Friday October 27 ahead of the Hyundai A-League clash between the Sky Blues and Perth Glory at Allianz Stadium.

Two days later, the Newcastle Jets open their Westfield W-League campaign against Western Sydney at McDonald Jones Stadium, before the same two clubs clash in a round four Hyundai A-League fixture.

Last season's Premiers Canberra United begin their season away at Victory, with their first home game on Sunday November 12 against Sydney FC.