Western United v Perth Glory: match preview

After making a dream start to their inaugural Hyundai A-League campaign last weekend, Western United FC will make more history on Saturday with their first-ever home match.

It’s sure to be a special occasion at GMHBA Stadium in Geelong as Mark Rudan’s side take on reigning Premiers Perth Glory.

United’s stars Besart Berisha, Alessandro Diamanti and Panagiotis Kone showed some thrilling signs in their win over Wellington Phoenix and will want to make another early statement to the rest of the competition.

But Tony Popovic’s Glory will provide a nice examination of where new club are at.

Glory were held to a 1-1 draw by Brisbane Roar in their season-opener and they’ll be hungry to start chalking up the wins.

RUDAN: 18 months of pain behind Berisha's incredible United moment
REPORT: Glory, Roar share spoils after O'Donovan's dramatic late equaliser

Click here to buy tickets

Saturday, October 19 2019
Kick-off: 5.00pm AEDT
Venue: GMHBA Stadium
Broadcast: FOX Sports 505 and ABC TV
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports, ABC iview

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #WUNvPER

Team news


Berart Berisha
Can Besart Berisha score on his home debut for Western United FC this weekend?

Did you know?

  • Western United FC will be looking to become just the second team in A-League history to win their first two games in the competition; Gold Coast United began their tenure with a three-game winning streak in 2009.
  • Perth Glory have lost only one of their last seven A-League games in Victoria (W4, D2), and are undefeated in their last four (W2, D2).
  • Besart Berisha (Western United FC) has scored 16 goals against Perth Glory in the A-League, the joint-second most of any player against a single opponent in the history of the competition.

Round 2: Western United FC v Perth Glory

Pick a winner

Round 2: Western United FC v Perth Glory