Perth Glory join elite Premiers Plate company after landmark achievement

There is one more piece of footballing history to add to Perth Glory's record-breaking Hyundai A-League Premiership campaign.

Sunday's 1-0 win over Newcastle Jets that clinched the Premiers Plate also meant that the WA giants became just the fourth club to have a Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League Premiership to their name. 

That victory saw Tony Popovic's men clinch their first trophy of the Hyundai A-League era, five years after the club's Westfield W-League team finished premiers in 2014.

In doing so, Perth join an elite group of three other clubs who have clinched the Premiers Plate in both competitions.

PREMIERS: Franjic fires Popovic's men to Hyundai A-League silverware
RECORD BREAKERS: Perth Glory's surge to the Premiership
REACTION: Popovic, Reddy and Chianese celebrate Perth Glory's Premiership victory

The writing was on the wall for Perth Glory's maiden Premiership

Sydney FC

The Sky Blues were the first team to land premierships in the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League – and the women's 2009 campaign and men's 2009/10 season remains the only occasion when a single club has taken out both titles in the same series. 

In total, Sydney FC have three Hyundai A-League Premierships to their name (2009/10, 2016/17 and 2017/18), going on to win the Grand Final in the 2009/10 and 2016/17 campaigns. They also won the Grand Final in the Hyundai A-League's first season in 2005/06. 

BOWING OUT: Sky Blues skipper Brosque set to retire

The Sky Blues Westfield W-League outfit completed the Premiership and Championship double in 2009 – which took the place of a 2009/10 campaign – and finished Premiers in 2010/11.

Sydney also won the Westfield W-League Grand Final in 2012/13 and 2018/19.

Sydney FC lift the Premiers' Plate in 2009/10
Sydney FC lift the Premiers Plate in 2009/10

Brisbane Roar

Brisbane Roar have also clinched Premiership success in both competitions, with five Westfield W-League and Hyundai A-League Premiers Plates. 

The Queenslanders' two Hyundai A-League Premierships were clinched in 2010/11 and 2013/14, seasons that saw the Roar go on to win the Grand Final in each campaign.

However, the club's Westfield W-League side can go one better. They have finished on top of the pile three times, including in the competition's debut 2008/09 season when they competed as Queensland Roar.

WATCH FOR FREE: How to watch the Hyundai A-League LIVE and FREE
HEROIC MOMENTS: Franjic enters Glory folklore - at the right end
TALKING POINTS: Who can challenge Perth Glory in the Finals Series?

Brisbane were Westfield W-League premiers in 2012/13 and 2017/18, but have only gone on to clinch the Championship once – back in that inaugural 2008/09 campaign.

Winners: Mel Andreatta's Brisbane Roar won the Westfield W-League Premiership in 2017/18

Melbourne Victory

Melbourne Victory won their first Westfield W-League Premiership back in February. It sits nicely alongside their 2013/14 Championship in the club trophy cabinet.

Although it was their first ever Premiers Plate triumph in the women's competition, the club's Hyundai A-League side have finished top of the pile at the end of the regular season three times (2006/07, 2008/09 and 2014/15).

And, each time they have won the Premiership, the Victorians have gone on to clinch the Grand Final. 

Melbourne Victory celebrate their premiership in the 2014/15 Season
Melbourne Victory celebrate the Hyundai A-League Premiership in 2014/15

Perth Glory

Mark down the date: April 14, 2019.

That's the day that Glory finally added a Hyundai A-League Premiership to the trophy cabinet alongside the Westfield W-League Premiers Plate they secured in 2014.

The club have had no luck in etching their name on the Championship so far. Glory's Westfield W-League side have been defeated in all three Grand Finals they have reached (2014, 2016/17 and 2018/19), while the Hyundai A-League team finished runners-up in 2011/12.

However, given the formidable rise of Tony Popovic's men in 2018/19, you could not rule out Perth breaking their Grand Final duck when the Finals Series gets underway next month.

Perth Glory were crowned premiers after last Sunday's 1-0 win over Newcastle Jets