New format to decide Tokyo 2020 Olympics qualifiers

Australia's bid to secure a ticket at the Tokyo Olympics 2020 will be decided in a new qualifying tournament.

The revamped format for the 2020 games will see the eight remaining teams divided into two groups, with the top two sides progressing to the two-legged play-offs to decide the final two Asian qualifiers.

This will give Asia's teams the opportunity to play their most important fixtures in front of their home fans. 

After two qualifying rounds, an initial cohort of 18 teams was whittled down to three, with Myanmar, Vietnam and Chinese Taipei joining Australia, China PR, DPR Korea, Korea Republic and Thailand.

As Asia's top-ranking sides, Australia and DPR Korea will be placed in Pot 1, China PR and Korea Republic are in Pot 2, Vietnam and Thailand in Pot 3 and Chinese Taipei and Myanmar in the final pot. The Asian Qualifiers Final Round draw takes place at the AFC House in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on Friday.

The Asian Qualifiers Final Round takes shape from February 3 to 9, 2020, with the two-legged play-off scheduled to commence on the dates of March 6 and 11, 2020.

GALLERY: Westfield Matildas' 40th anniversary celebrations
NEWS: Ex-Westfield Matildas star Munoz calls time on playing career
'IT MEANT SO MUCH TO US': Dolan remembers history-making international

Featured image courtesy of The AFC