Kennedy’s back as Sydney FC sign six Westfield Matildas

Sydney FC have made a real signal of intent for the Westfield W-League 2018/19 Season, announcing the signing of a host of Westfield Matildas stars on Wednesday.

Attacking trio Lisa De Vanna, Caitlin Foord and Chloe Logarzo are all back for another season in Sky Blue, while midfielder Amy Harrison returns after suffering a serious knee injury last season.

SKY BLUES: Sydney FC's 2018/19 squad is coming together after unveiling nine players

READ MORE: Glory teen relishing chance to face her heroes

Newly-capped Westfield Matilda Amy Sayer has also joined the club from Canberra United, while in a huge coup, defender Alanna Kennedy is back at Sydney FC after winning the title with Melbourne City last season.

Kennedy has played four seasons in the competition with Sydney and is one of the Westfield Matildas key players heading towards next year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup in France.

“I’m thrilled to be back at Sydney FC,” said Kennedy, who was the club’s Westfield W-League Player of the Year in 2015/16.

“This club is like family to me, it’s an environment in which I have had success in the past and I can’t wait to get started.

“Being away from the club made me realise what I was missing off the field and I’m expecting my performances to show it was worth the return.”

De Vanna, the Westfield Matildas’ all-time leading scorer, is back for her second season with the club while Logarzo returns on a two-year deal after taking out the club’s Player of the Year award last season.

Foord, Asian Footballer of the Year in 2016, will link up with the Sky Blues again after her commitments with Portland Thorns in the NWSL are over, while the addition of Sayer is exciting after her international debut against Japan in july.

“We’ve got some fantastic individuals in this team and together they make a formidable squad,” coach Ante Juric said.

“With the right mix of senior national team players guiding our Young Matildas I believe we’ll more than just challenge this season.

“We are in the process of finalising the announcements of some additional talent from overseas but once we get everyone together I’m confident of doing some damage.”

Sydney FC Westfield W-League 2018/19 team so far:

Teresa POLIAS, Lisa DE VANNA, Caitlin FOORD, Amy HARRISON, Angelique HRISTODOULOU, Princess IBINI, Alanna KENNEDY, Chloe LOGARZO, Elizabeth RALSTON, Taylor RAY, Amy SAYER, Rachel SOUTAR, Natalie TOBIN, Julia VIGNES.

Lisa De Vanna
Visit site
This article was originally published on the Westfield W-League website.