Ikonomidis joins illustrious group of winners of the NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award

In winning the NAB Young Footballer of the Year for 2018/19, Chris Ikonomidis becomes just the second Perth Glory player to take out the prestigious award in the Hyundai A-League.

The only other Glory player to have their name on the prize was Nick Ward, coming way back in the very first season of the competition in 2005/06.

Since then some impressive names have won the award, some going on to play for their national team at FIFA World Cups – and in the case of Mat Ryan in the English Premier League.

WELL DESERVED: Ikonomidis' forms warrants NAB Young Footballer accolade
LIVE BLOG: The Dolan Warren Awards of 2019

Ikonomidis certainly belongs in the elite company given his outstanding performances for Glory this season, who are now just one win away from securing a historic double.

Check out all the previous winners of the award in the Hyundai A-League below.

  • 2017/18 Season: Daniel Arzani – Melbourne City
  • 2016/17 Season: Jamie Maclaren – Brisbane Roar
  • 2015/16 Season: Jamie Maclaren – Brisbane Roar
  • 2013/14 Season: Adam Taggart – Newcastle Jets
  • 2012/13 Season: Marco Rojas – Melbourne Victory
  • 2011/12 Season: Mat Ryan – Central Coast Mariners
Mat Ryan
Caltex Socceroos keeper Mat Ryan during his time at the Central Coast Mariners
  • 2010/11 Season: Mat Ryan – Central Coast Mariners
  • 2009/10 Season: Tommy Oar – Brisbane Roar
  • 2008/09 Season: Scott Jamieson – Adelaide United
  • 2007/08 Season: Bruce Djite – Adelaide United
  • 2006/07 Season: Adrian Leijer – Melbourne Victory
  • 2005/06 Season: Nick Ward – Perth Glory