Canada announce squad to tackle Socceroos

Canada have announced their squad for the upcoming international against the Socceroos, which will take place at London’s Craven Cottage in 12 days time.

Canada have announced their squad for the upcoming international against the Socceroos, which will take place at London-s Craven Cottage in 12 days time. The 21-player roster features players from European leagues and Major League Soccer (MLS), with the Canadians looking to improve on their current FIFA ranking of 106 in the world.

Head coach Benito Floro has retained the same players that participated in a recent training camp and went down 1-0 to Mauritania in their last outing. Floro will be hoping his frontman can fire, with the Canadians having failed to register a goal in their last seven matches.

“This camp and match against Australia will be important as we continue to work on establishing our team-s tactical structure,” said Floro.

“With each camp we need to continue to build towards specific goals and maintain a certain quality of play. Australia is a strong opponent and will test our latest key learnings.”

Australia last played Canada back in 1993, during their qualification campaign for the FIFA World Cup in the USA. The Socceroos prevailed in a penalty shoot-out after both countries claimed 2-1 home victories in the two-legged tie and couldn't be separated after extra time.

Australia have already named a 24-player squad for the match, which will also play in the preceding international against France, as they continue preparations for next year-s World Cup in Brazil.

Socceroos v Canada Tuesday 15 October 2013 Craven Cottage, Fulham, London, England Kick-off: 8.00pm BST (6:00am AEDT)

CANADA GK - Milan Borjan | TUR / Sivasspor GK - Lars Hirschfeld | NOR / Vålerenga Fotball D - Doneil Henry | CAN / Toronto FC D - Dejan Jakovic | USA / D.C. United D - Adam Straith | GER / Wehen Wiesbaden D - Marcel de Jong | GER / FC Augsburg D - David Edgar | ENG / Burnley FC D - Ashtone Morgan | CAN / Toronto FC D/M - Nik Ledgerwood | SWE / Hammarby Fotboll M - Kyle Bekker | CAN / Toronto FC M - Dylan Carreiro | ENG / Queens Park Rangers M - Julian de Guzman | GRE / Skoda Xanthi M - Atiba Hutchinson | TUR / Besiktas M - Jonathan Osorio | CAN / Toronto FC M - Samuel Piette | GER / Fortuna Düsseldorf M/F - Stefan Cebara | Unattached / sans club M/F - Dwayne De Rosario | USA / D.C. United M/F - Michael Petrasso | ENG / Queens Park Rangers M/F - Russell Teibert | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC F - Marcus Haber | ENG / Notts County F - Iain Hume | ENG / Preston North End F - Simeon Jackson | GER / Eintracht Braunschweig F - Tosaint Ricketts | TUR / Bucaspor