Caltex Socceroos boss to sit on NAB Young Footballer of the Year panel

They were part of the Caltex Socceroos squad at the FIFA World Cup 2018 in Russia and are forging club careers in the United Kingdom.

But what else do Mat Ryan, Daniel Arzani and Jamie Maclaren have in common?

They have all previously been named the NAB Young Footballer of the Year.

The award that shines a light on Australia's emerging football talent is back for another year.

This season's expert panel is fronted by Caltex Socceroos head coach Graham Arnold but it is the supporters who have the final say by choosing the 2018/19 winner.

'UNBELIEVABLE': Wagner hails Mooy's Huddersfield impact
PROGRESSION: Hibs boss lauds Boyle's Caltex Socceroos display
AUSSIES ABROAD: Irvine's Hull City hold Championship leaders

Telstra banner

How does it work?

The panel of experts - Graham Arnold, Trevor Morgan, Carl Veart and Simon Hill - submit votes on a 3-2-1 basis to recognise the best performing young player each month.

That player is rewarded by being nominated for the end-of-season award. 

A player can only be nominated once. At the end of the season, six players will have been nominated and, from that shortlist, fans will decide the winner of the NAB Young Footballer of the Year. 

Supporters can vote via a poll at, with the most popular nominee announced as the winner at the Dolan Warren Awards.

Players must be aged 23 or under to be eligible for the award. Any players who receive a red card during the Hyundai A-League season are ruled out of the running.

The winner receives a $10,000 personal investment portfolio from NAB and a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking and financial services.

Daniel Arzani

Who are the past winners?  

Arzani and Ellie Carpenter are the reigning NAB Young Footballers of the Year.

Ten other players have also claimed the honour for their Hyundai A-League exploits.

2017/18: Daniel Arzani
2016/17: Jamie Maclaren
2015/16: Jamie Maclaren
2014/15: James Jeggo
2013/14: Adam Taggart
2012/13: Marco Rojas
2011/12: Mat Ryan
2010/11: Mat Ryan
2009/10: Tommy Oar
2008/09: Scott Jamieson
2007/08: Bruce Djite
2006/07: Adrian Leijer
2005/06: Nick Ward

Who will be the next name on the list? Have your say at the end of the season!

Adam Taggart