100 days to go: Countdown to the start of the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Season

The countdown to the start of the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Season is on with just 100 days until the opening match of the new campaign.

The Hyundai A-League is heading into its 15th season in 2019/20 and even this far out it has all the hallmarks of being one of the most exciting yet, getting underway on Friday, October 11.

Sydney FC emerged as champions in 2018/19 but there will be a host of clubs looking to take the title off them in the next campaign.

Among them will be a brand new club in the Hyundai A-League, with the competition to welcome in a new side in Western United FC.

Led by coach Mark Rudan, the new outfit from the west of Melbourne are keen to make an immediate splash in their debut season.

EVERY SIGNING: Check out all the Hyundai A-League Ins and Outs 
EXPLAINER: How does the transfer window work?

It’s been a whirlwind period for United ahead of their first-ever match, unveiling their club name, colours and jersey as well as having 18 players signed, including the likes of Panagiotis Kone, Scott McDonald, Ersan Gulum and Andrew Durante.

The competition’s new boys aren’t the only ones who have been big players in the transfer market so far.

The Sky Blues have snared a couple of new players from their fiercest rivals, nabbing Kosta Barbarouses from Melbourne Victory and ex-Western Sydney Wanderers playmaker Alexander Baumjohann.

Robbie Fowler has brought in 10 new faces at Brisbane Roar, including Roy O’Donovan and Aiden O’Neill, Melbourne City have added former Premier League winger Craig Noone and Panamanian World Cup striker Abdiel Arroyo has joined Newcastle Jets.

BEST SIGNING: Vote for the best June HAL signing
READ MORE: What are expected goals?

An 11th-club in the competition means there have been some changes to the draw for the upcoming season.

Clubs will play 26 matches (13 at home, 13 away) over 29 rounds, including three byes.

There will be no Split Rounds and no breaks for FIFA international dates, while the Hyundai A-League 2020 Grand Final has been set down for the weekend of May 16/17.